March 9, 2018

Another week gone by, hm? Let’s review.
This week was the slowest blur of things to happen to me. It was everything and nothing, all at once, and somehow, uniquely stressful.
We have to work on artist statements for the upcoming art show (The one that I’m unsure on how to spell the name of), and I have to say, I’m ridiculously anxious about it.

My train of thought goes something like this:

1. I can’t figure out which piece to use.
I. The piece I have solidly done I already put into Art Fields, which.. I don’t wanna push my luck with that, but it’s a good fallback, I guess.
II. The other piece I originally intended to put into this upcoming art show doesn’t feel like it’s…  Enough for me.
III. The piece I thought I was going to put into this show is an absolute MESS! It isn’t going anything like how I planned, and I have to say, I’m not exactly thrilled about it.

2. If I could pick a piece, I wouldn’t be sure what to say about it.
I. The artist statement is what really sells it, right? If I were to put in my original piece, I would have to make up a really wonderful backstory for it or something, but that could potentially get messy quick, so.. There’s a lot to consider there.
II. I have nothing to say about my second piece, which depicts an angel, unless I made it a discussion about how religion can affect people in a negative light if done in an insensitive manner, but that’s a risk, as it could show some sort of rudeness to a group of people, and that’s really not my goal at all.
III. For my third piece, I could make it about the environment, but that would require me to fully commit to this piece, which is a risk I’m really not willing to take.

All in all, I’m perturbed by this whole ordeal. It feels like its going belly up, which I knew would be a possibility – Art is totally unpredictable, and something I cannot do definitively. It’s one of the things I can do that I don’t have total control over and that I need to treat as an entity rather than, say, a usable skill. I knew that taking this into a line of effort that requires a me to fully commit to doing what I say I(‘m) going to/want to do would be stressful – I did it anyway, though. I hope it teaches me something, and that I can end up doing something amazing with what I learn via doing this sort of thing.

Well, that’s all from me – I hope everyone had a wonderful week, and as always, catch you on the flip side.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *