September 15, 2017

The week is almost gone! I barely noticed it!
Well, to recap… We recently started working with Adobe Illustrator, which is interesting. I was excited for the different brush types, but I think it might not be the best tool for the kind of art I typically make. Good thing I’m an artist in more than one way! I’m sure I’ll find a comfortable way to make art with Illustrator soon.
Aside from that, I played around with the stamps a bit. There’s some ones there that probably weren’t meant to be funny, but they gave me a good laugh. I think I might have to turn in proof of my work, so I might have to make that up, but aside from that, I think I’ve got this down so far.
I like that this class tackles it in bite-sized bits. It makes all of this a lot easier for me to do.
I finished up my entry for the state fair as well! I’m decently proud of it, but I’m kind of tired of seeing it, if I’m perfectly honest. People keep complimenting it, too.. Aw, shucks.
I’m sure the test print will find a home somewhere in a frame in my house.
Back on the topic of Illustrator, I think my favorite part of it so far is the way you can navigate. I’m used to Sai’s and Krita’s method of adjusting the zoom level with my mouse and then scrolling using bars at the side and bottom, but the command plus or minus is.. Surprisingly handy. Of course, the bars are still there, but there’s also the drag function, which is pretty smooth. I think one of the biggest thing art software developers could improve on is how you navigate a canvas. It makes doing this so much easier and fluid if the interface is simple.
The biggest issue I’ve had this far is was with fixing up my entry – It originally started as a drawing of a character of mine, and then I figured I’d put it to the side, and if I wanted to make any changes to it later – Give her pupils, fix some of the lighting – I would. I never did, though. She’s one of my best pieces, though, so when the State Fair was brought up I figured I could touch up on it a bit and submit it. It was recommended to me that I give her some shoulders and touch up on the highlights, though, so I decided I would, right, shouldn’t be too hard, right?
Wrong!
I didn’t have a .sai file for the version I intended to turn in!
That means no layers, no erasing, no nothing. All of my fixes were done on one layer on a computer screen that never shows the colors quite right months after I made the original. Needless to say, I was a little bit turned around by it.
In the end, though, it came out fine! I’m happy with the end result. I hope it gets in!
Anyway, that was my week – I hope everyone in the class had a good week, too.
Catch you on the flip side.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *